Madison Bumgarner throws a ‘no-hitter’ that may not technically be a no-hitter

Products You May Like

Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Madison Bumgarner threw a seven-inning no hitter against the Atlanta Braves in the second game of a Sunday doubleheader.

Madison Bumgarner has been in the league for 13 years, mostly with the San Francisco Giants. His stint with the Arizona Diamondbacks has been far from ideal, but “MadBum” received his first grand moment with the team.

On Sunday, Bumgarner threw a seven-inning no hitter in the second game of a doubleheader against the Atlanta Braves, which saw the Diamondbacks win 7-0. Bumgarner struck out seven batters. and did not allow a single walk in the contest. Atlanta’s only baserunner came on an error.

Of course, everyone is wondering if Bumgarner’s seven-inning no-no is official in the history books.

Does Madison Bumgarner’s outing count as a no hitter?

Minutes after the game, the rule states that a no-hitter can only count if it is nine-innings. However, MLB Network insider Jon Heyman reported that the MLB and Elias Sports Bureau are discussing whether Bumgarner’s no-no should count. Heyman notes that the league “seems to be in favor” of making it official.

So yes, Diamondbacks fans, we are telling you there is a chance that this could be an official no-hitter.

This outing was a welcome sight for Bumgarner, as he struggled through the first four starts of the season. Through that span, the veteran owned a bloated 8.68 ERA, struck out 20 batters and allowed a league-high 18 earned runs in 18.2 innings pitched.

The past does not matter as of this writing, as Bumgarner may or may not have thrown an official no-hitter. We will keep you updated on the decision of MLB once it is made available..

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.