Who won NL Rookie of the Year, and did they get it right?

Products You May Like

The BBWAA announced the National League and American League Rookie of the Year award winners on Monday night.

Cincinnati Reds infielder Jonathan India won NL Rookie of the Year, capturing the award over the likes of Dylan Carlson of the St. Louis Cardinals, and Trevor Rogers of the Miami Marlins.

India was the Reds leadoff hitter for the majority of the season, making an immediate impact when manager David Bell opted to go with the rookie in that spot in early June. India hit a home run, and registered a base hit in his first game leading off on June 5.

“I can’t imagine someone being more deserving than Jonathan,” Bell said. “He’s done everything in his power to make our team better and he has done that. He’s personally had a great season, great accomplishments, but he simply made us a much better team by being in our lineup every day and I think that’s what it is all about.”

Who is Jonathan India?

India will turn 25 years old this offseason, and finished the season with a .269 batting average, .376 on-base percentage, 34 doubles, 21 homers, 69 RBI and 98 runs. Those numbers alone make him a valuable part of the Reds future, and the obvious choice for Rookie of the Year. He received 29 of 30 first-place votes.

The eighth Reds rookie to win the award, India joins the likes of Scott Williamson, Chris Sabo, Pat Zachry (1976), Johnny Bench (1968), Tommy Helms (1966), Pete Rose (1963) and Frank Robinson (1956) as the only Cincinnati players to take home the hardware.

MLB Rookie of the Year 2021: Did Jonathan India deserve it?

While some rival fans may suggest otherwise, it’s tough to argue with India as the recipient here. His numbers, as well as his overall impact on a near-playoff team, make the Reds star the best choice.

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.